AWS Certifications - Learn AWS from Beginner to Master

Wednesday, July 8, 2020
No items found.

Did you know that Amazon Web Services (AWS) has a 34% share of the public cloud market?

This stake has made AWS the market leader in the cloud computing industry. Through a combination of early adoption and technical ingenuity, AWS has created an ecosystem that is used by millions of people around the world. This usage doesn’t look to be reducing any time soon either. In fact, the amount of people utilising AWS technologies looks like it will increase even further for the moment. 

Understanding the popularity of AWS currently and the influence it will most likely hold on the future, IT professionals from around the world are deciding to gain further skills and specialise within AWS. There are some overarching themes why professionals are nestling themselves further into the AWS ecosystem. One of the main ones is that the public cloud is getting more and more popular, with most businesses utilising it in some form.

Perhaps you’re working in the industry and want to learn more about AWS? If this is the case, Amazon actually provides you with learning paths to get started and become a master of different elements within AWS. By completing each stage you can be awarded a certificate that proves your competency. Below we’ll cover your options to get started.

AWS Certifications

By gaining an AWS certification, you can provide evidence of your knowledge of the platform. There are 5 different learning paths you can follow to become specialised. These paths are:

  • Cloud
  • Architect
  • Developer
  • Operations
  • Speciality

Each of these specialisms has three different levels of certification. Depending on your knowledge and experience of working within these areas you can choose a foundational, associate, professional, or specialty certificate.

Cloud Practitioner

To gain an overview and to understand the AWS Cloud, this certification is a great choice. It’s a foundation level that will cover the basic concepts of AWS architecture, the AWS services, as well as security and compliance.


The architect path is well suited for IT workers that use AWS to form and run distributed applications. 

If you are new to the area, you should look at the Associate level course. This will provide you with a basic knowledge of creating distributed applications. Part of the course requires you to prove competency in designing, managing, and implementing apps in AWS. 

If you want to take part in the Professional level course, it covers similar topics to the associate program, but gives a more in depth understanding on the subjects. 


If you are a developer that has to work within an AWS environment, there are the Developer certificates to improve your skill set. As with other learning paths, there are two levels. The first is AWS Certified Developer, this is the associate level course. The second is the AWS certified DevOps Engineer, this is the professional level course.

To enter into the associate level course, you should have experience with AWS and know one programming language well. The program covers the basic AWS architecture and the core elements of the AWS services.  It will also cover a lot of information about AWS apps, such as maintaining them, deploying, developing, and designing them.

The professional level covers similar topics, but will also delve into big data, data analysis and security. This is alongside Kinesis, QuickSight, and Athena. 


There is a lot involved with managing AWS effectively, particularly when looking at maintaining availability and controlling costs. If you are a system administrator, it’s possible to gain the AWS Certified SysOps Administrator -  Associate certification.

Taking part in this path will prove you have knowledge in utilising AWS efficiently to complete administrative jobs. Keeping an AWS environment well managed and secure. Transferring data from data centers into AWS. As well as deploying applications into the AWS platform.


Beyond the above options, there are speciality paths you can take to gain a certificate. These are mainly for experienced IT professionals to further their knowledge and skills. The three areas they can choose from are:

  • AWS Certified Big Data
  • AWS Certified Advanced Networking
  • AWS Certified Security

With Amazon Web Services looking like it’s only going to gain in popularity, it would seem like a good idea to gain a knowledge of the ecosystem so much of the online world is based on. For people working within IT, understanding AWS will become more and more important. By gaining an AWS certification, you can prove to employers and colleagues your level of proficiency, and set yourself up well for the development of the cloud into the future.