AWS certifications, learn to master AWS

Saturday, April 18, 2020
No items found.

It is very rare for a business to not be online these days. Over the years the concept of ‘being online’ has also evolved. Once this could simply mean having a website - for many companies this still does. But with the development of the cloud and the internet of things, the digital world has become a lot more integrated with our day to day lives.

A considerable number of the world’s largest organisations utilise cloud computing within their software ecosystems. Amazon Web Services or AWS is one of the most broadly adopted cloud providers out there, and their influence is continuing to grow. Because of this, if you work within IT, understanding the AWS platform and being able to work within its guidelines is extremely valuable.

AWS has a series of certifications a professional can work towards and gain to showcase their proficiency of working within an AWS environment. Not only is this extremely well respected within the industry, but AWS certified engineers can command a significant salary.

If you are looking to get AWS certified, there are a few different paths to consider. The choice will depend on your goals, circumstances, and skillset. In this article we’ll outline some of the places to begin your path towards AWS certification.

What are the AWS certifications?

When first looking into these qualifications, it can appear slightly confusing to begin with. In total, AWS provides 11 certifications, divided into two sections. Six of these are core skill certifications, which follow levels based on a foundational, associate, and a professional development path. These certifications can also be chosen based on your work environment, with the choice of architect, operations, and developer.

The remaining five are speciality certifications which usually are a step further than the core certifications and allow a practitioner to hone in on a specialism they wish to incorporate into their work practices.

Core Certifications

As mentioned above, the core certs are divided across three levels, foundation, associate and professional.


Cloud Practitioner

This is the base knowledge of AWS that’s needed to follow any of the career paths. It follows information around the core principles, services, features, and use cases. Alongside that a person is required to understand security and compliance, deploying and billing, support, and pricing.


Solutions Architect

This showcases you can build and deploy systems within the AWS cloud framework. It will test deployment knowledge and best practices around architecture. An individual must demonstrate solid knowledge of deploying, configuring and managing compute, network, storage, and database services in AWS.

SysOps Administrator

Deploying, managing, and operating AWS cloud system resources is what this cert is about. An understanding of fault tolerance and high availability is required. This is as well as resource deployment and operational needs like security and cost.


Can you develop native AWS applications? In this certifications you’ll have to prove your knowledge of optimising the AWS services within your app with the AWS SDK. Code based security will also be tested, including credentials and encryption.


Solutions Architect:

This certification asks for an individual to be capable of building and deploying distributed systems, as well as deploying them with high availability and fault tolerance, at scale. Knowledge of multi-tier applications and enterprise sized cloud solutions must also be understood.

DevOps Engineer:

To gain this certification, you must have a good knowledge of managing distributed applications, across provisioning up to operational management. Best practices around automation of security and compliance check, amongst others will also be tested. Monitoring and logging within the AWS platform knowledge will also be required.

Speciality Certifications

Beyond the core skills outlined above, a practitioner can create and prove their highly specialised skill set within AWS by gaining a speciality certification. There are six certifications on offer.

  • Advanced Networking
  • Data Analytics
  • AWS Security
  • Machine Learning
  • Alexa Skill Builder
  • Database

For an individual looking to showcase and develop their skill set, gaining certifications with AWS should be seriously considered. The cost of certification is relatively low and the return on investment can be very high. With AWS cloud services, there is a huge demand for the skillset out there. Many companies haven’t even began their journey into cloud computing, there is still a lot more space for the market to grow. For this to happen, well qualified professionals will be required.